Sherlock Holmes: The complete illustrated novels

By Arthur Conan Doyle

Rating: 4 stars

This omnibus volume contains all four Sherlock Holmes novels by Arthur Conan Doyle. It’s a companion volume to Sherlock Holmes The Complete Illustrated Short Stories and is as beautifully illustrated as the other with the illustrations from the original serial publication in Punch and the other magazines of the day.

The four novels contained within are all well known, possibly excepting the last one. Holmes’ first appearance is in A Study in Scarlet, which sees Holmes and Watson take up residence at 221B Baker St; The Sign of Four isn’t really all that memorable a story of betrayal and revenge; The Hound of the Baskervilles is probably his most famous story; and The Valley of Fear is the only story, other than The Adventure of the Final Problem to mention Professor Moriarty (it was set before the latter, although written after).

The Valley of Fear resurrects the successful formula from A Study in Scarlet by having the mystery solved about half way through the book, and then a historical narrative to show how we got there in the first place.

The last one is the only one of the novels that I hadn’t read before, but you can’t really go that far wrong with a Holmes novel and I’ve enjoyed dipping back into Conan Doyle’s world to watch the master at work.

Book details

ISBN: 9781851520589
Publisher: Chancellor Press
Year of publication: 1966

No Comments »

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

RSS feed for comments on this post | TrackBack URL

Powered by WordPress